You Can Delete Audio Podcasts on the iPhone/iPod Touch

I don’t know when this happened, but I’ve just noticed that you can delete audio podcasts on the iPhone (and presumably iPod Touch), in addition to any video. Here I’ve chosen to delete an episode of solipsistic NATION:

Deleting Audio Podcasts from the iPhone

Same gesture: swipe from left to right over the podcast, then tap the Delete button and the confirmation button.

You can’t delete any other kind of audio, however, only podcasts. Deleting podcasts complements the new feature which allows you to download podcasts from the iPhone/iPod Touch itself. It gives you full management of podcasts without having to use a computer.

24 Responses to You Can Delete Audio Podcasts on the iPhone/iPod Touch

  1. Otto Colbert says:

    The way this post shows is what I’m using to delete podcasts on iPhone. Another way to remove podcast is through PC.
    Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqmn-5UxYbU

  2. Vanessa says:

    Oh gosh, this was driving me crazy. Thank you so much!

  3. asdfghjkllove says:

    yey! thanks for this. I’ve been wondering how to delete my downloaded podcasts. iphone is really full of secrets! :))

  4. Joyce Payne says:

    Thank you very much. I had been trying to figure out how to delete all unwanted podcasts and thanks to you I now have the answer.

  5. Sozis says:

    wow thanks a lot ^^

  6. cweedy says:

    thank you very much!

  7. Chris says:

    You just made life so much easier 🙂

  8. Quinn says:

    Woot! Thank you SO much for sharing this! You made my morning! Was getting really frustrated. 🙂

  9. YOLANDE'R says:

    Thanks dude! Really useful! Thanks for posting this tip! Cheers! 🙂

  10. STL Mom says:

    Thanks for the tip — I needed to clear out some old podcasts.

  11. Fernando Barragan says:

    This is a great tip… Thanks a ton!

  12. lawtorm says:

    Yes! This worked. Finally.

  13. Brenden says:

    Thanks a bunch for this….really. I live and breathe podcasts….

    This works on the IPAD also. Smooth as glass brother.

    Thanks again.

  14. Emmanuel Mathew says:

    Hi:

    Thanks a lot. The tip was awesome. I never would have found that out without you and you saved me from the mess.

    Thanks
    Emmanuel Mathew

  15. Alan says:

    Thanks for the tip about deleting from the iPod. Alan

  16. buzz says:

    Is there any way I can make audiobooks into podcast extension so I can delete chapters off iphone directly as I listen to them, that would be great, because I have noticed one is only able to delete podcasts, not audio books.

    • tunegardener says:

      You would be better off managing audiobooks with a Smart Playlist, say:

      Playlist > is > Audiobooks
      Play Count > is not > 0

      If you sync this to your iPod, you will only get unplayed audiobooks. Once played and the iPod is synced again, they will disappear from the iPod.

  17. qwertyuiopasdfghjklzxcvbnm says:

    thankyou, was alot of help =D x

  18. sherley says:

    thank you… i was wondering how to delete all useless podcasts that i downloaded !.. thank you once again it was very useful !!.,,:)

  19. tunegardener says:

    That’s funny, because I didn’t think of the implications of depicting deleting your show! It’s not that I don’t like it, Your podcast was the only one I had on the iPhone at the time that had more than one episode, and you supply artwork for all your episodes, unlike a number of other podcasters, so it looked visually good as well.

    It’s cool that you came to my site on a tangent like this.

  20. Never expected my show to be blogged about in this manner but, hey, I’m glad you’re listening 🙂

Leave a comment