You Can Delete Videos on the iPod Touch!

At least, to my knowledge, this is undocumented. Look at this:

 Delete

In the same way that you can delete certain items on the iPhone, you can delete individual videos. You swipe your finger from left to right over the list entry and you get this Delete button. If you click it, you are asked to confirm, then away it goes.

Strangely, you can’t delete songs. I wondered what could be the purpose of manually deleting content until I thought about the WiFi iTunes Store. You could easily run out of room for purchases, so you can throw out the big stuff to make way. Also useful if the contacts you enter balloon out of control. 😉

Speaking of contacts, you can’t delete them in this manner, although you can delete them if you edit them first. You can’t edit nor delete calendar events.

I wonder what else I’ll find.

11 Responses to You Can Delete Videos on the iPod Touch!

  1. johnny says:

    Nice quick easy answer, thanks mate. 🙂

  2. Cool says:

    Thanks because i was running out of space on my iPod!!!

  3. perri says:

    I don’t own an iPod Touch, but my sister does. I have hers because wants me to put music and stuff on it for her. I added a couple of videos but the quality of one isn’t all that great and I wasn’t sure how to delete it. The pdf manual is, like, 122 pages long. I’m really not into reading through it (especially since the iPod isn’t mine).

    So, I said all of that to say, thanks for posting this piece of information! :thumbsup:

  4. Sim says:

    Thanks. I tried all the methods. THKS!!

  5. […] that you can delete audio podcasts on the iPhone (and presumably iPod Touch), in addition to any video. Here I’ve chosen to delete an episode of solipsistic […]

  6. Miggy says:

    when i delete it the videos sttill come back for some od reason

    • tunegardener says:

      Most likely they are still included in the criteria for syncing. For example, if you are syncing the last 5 unplayed episodes of every podcast, and you haven’t played the video the whole way through, then it isn’t “played”, so it is automatically included in the next sync until you play it fully.

      If you use a playlist to select content to sync, it is probably still in the playlist, thus each new sync puts it back on the iPod.

  7. Greg says:

    Thank You So Much! This helped me a lot!…I felt kinda dumb though, considering it was so easy! 😀
    Thanks Again!

  8. Quinn says:

    I had no idea! I never read the user guide, so thanks! This helped me, because I put “Starsky and Hutch” on my iPod, and for some reason it’s in French, ahhaha..

  9. tunegardener says:

    Yes, I am aware of this now. I made the mistake of trying to report it without doing my research first. I’ll be more careful next time.

  10. Allen says:

    This is not a secret undocumented feature. Its spelled out pretty clearly in the users guide available on Apple’s web site.

Leave a Reply

